View is situated on the main A590 directly opposite the Haverthwaite
Steam Railway Museum and approximately 6 miles from the Lakeland market
town of Ulverston. It is ideally situated for anyone wishing to tour
the South Lakes area, the Furness peninsular or visit the coastal
towns of Grange-over-Sands and Morecambe. The
Anglers Arms, just 100yds away, offers excellent food and a good
range of guest beers. For more information on local facilities and
attractions visit use GOOGLE using the postcode LA12 8AL.
Steam Railway Museum
attraction is across the A590 from Heights View. Passengers can
choose either a return 3.5 mile journey on the train only to Lakeside,
or for an unbeatable day out, this can be combined with the lake
cruise, a visit to the Aquarium of the lakes, or a visit to the
World of Beatrix Potter in Bowness. Depending on the time available,
the choice is yours.
to Furness Railway
of the Lakes
Visit the award winning Aquarium of the Lakes situated alongside
Lakeside Station. Over 30 wonderful displays, featuring the UK's
largest collection of freshwater fish as well as mischievous otters
and diving ducks. Walk on Windermere's recreated lake bed in the
Lake District's only underwater tunnel and marvel at the amazing
diversity of creatures that live there.
Come face to face with the sharks and rays from around our coast
in the fascinating Morecambe Bay display.
home of the Strickland family for over 760 years, the medieval castle
was extended in Elizabethan times and has an exceptional series
of oak-panelled interiors with intricately carved chimneypieces
and early oak furniture, culminating in the magnificent Inlaid Chamber.
The castle is surrounded by handsome gardens which include a particularly
imposing and beautiful rock garden. The estate has flower-rich limestone
pasture and ancient woodland supporting numerous species of butterfly.
Peace Temple at Manjushri Buddhist Centre
special New Kadampa Tradition temple, at Manjushri Buddhist Centre
just outside Ulverston,
first of its kind to be built in Britain.
of Conishead Priory
Conishead Priory, as it's known, is situated in wooded grounds on
the shores of Morecambe Bay.
was founded as a hospital by Augustinian monks from Furness Abbey
in the 12th century.
reconstructed to be a residence from 1820. Since then, it has twice
reverted to its original use as a hospital: as a sanatorium for
miners and as a wartime hospital for wounded soldiers.
More Info on this website
very fine example of Lake District vernacular architecture and an
exceptional survival. Largely 17th-century, the solid stone and
slate house belonged to a wealthy yeoman farming family and contains
carved woodwork, books, papers, furniture and fascinating domestic
implements from the past, largely accumulated by the Browne family
who lived here from 1626 to 1943.